Spooky books for The Grim(m) Season:  The Thirteenth Tale

So there’s this young woman of (extremely) modest means named Margaret Lea who works in an undervisited bookstore and reviews books and writes author biographies on the side – but she only does it of obscure authors and their barely known books.  This is because she doesn’t see herself as a real biographer and doesn’t […]

Spooky Song Of The Week for Oct. 20th:  the Vampire Waltz and Dearg Due

It’s still the weekend, so we’re not late yet (just barely) for the Spooky Song Of The Week.  This time, it’s “The Vampire Waltz,” by Hannah Fury.  Fury is an American singer-songwriter not unlike Tori Amos, except that Fury focuses more on melancholy than anything else and is too shy for live performances.  Fury began […]

Spooky reading:  modern Gothic novels

Does anyone write true Gothic novels and stories anymore?  I mean in the tradition of The House of the Seven Gables or Rebecca.  Not horror:  Gothic suspense, with a dash of romance. These days, modern urban fantasy, updated vampire novels, Romance and other fantasy sub-genres have largely taken over where Stephen King, Batman, steampunk and […]

The perfect Halloween book

Everybody knows you go out and party on Halloween in your best costume ever – or else you stay home and dole out treats and tricks to the little buggers – uh, beggars who knock on your door. Either way, it gives you an excuse to chew a nice Tootsie Roll, chocolate bar, or whatever-your-pleasure.  […]