TV’s Spooky Outlander Show and Time Travel Conundrums

TV’S OUTLANDER Now before I get into my problem and questions with the very good Starz time-travel television series “Outlander,” allow me to digress for some needed context. TIME-TRAVEL Time travel. It’s such a romanticized and spooky concept. Haven’t each and every one of us dreamed about what we could do with the opportunity to […]

Spooky holidays:  Solstice tales – The Werewolves of Anne Rice

Holiday greetings, dear spookyfans!  Are you enjoying the Grim(m) Season so far?  Yes, the days keep growing shorter, which leaves us in the northern hemisphere with longer evenings for things to go bump in the night. As you may know, there are certain astronomical events during the year that held special significance for the ancients […]

Spooky bio:  Edward Gorey, author, Chicagoan, and artist of the gaily macabre

Do you know Edward St. John Gorey?  If you watch public television, we bet you do.  Gorey (1925–2000) is perhaps best known today for the wittily strange pen and ink drawings that comprise the opening animated credits of the PBS television series Mystery! (now renamed Masterpiece Mystery).  His sketches were created specifically for the series, then animated by […]

Favorite spooky stories:  Washington Irving’s The Legend of Sleepy Hollow

Let’s “face” it, Sleepy Hollow is scary.  The concept, the story or the excellent movie by Tim Burton with its terrific spooky rural eerie countryside ambience – doesn’t matter which one you mean, ’cause they’re all creepy.  And yes, there’s also a major Haunted Attraction in Ulster, NY that pays homage to the headless wonder.   […]

Spooky books for The Grim(m) Season:  The Thirteenth Tale

So there’s this young woman of (extremely) modest means named Margaret Lea who works in an undervisited bookstore and reviews books and writes author biographies on the side – but she only does it of obscure authors and their barely known books.  This is because she doesn’t see herself as a real biographer and doesn’t […]

Music For The Grim(m) Season: John Williams’s Harry Potter chorus

As those of you who regularly follow this blog may have noticed, SpookyThings online is really a blog for adults.  That doesn’t mean it’s x-rated or anything like that, but we deal with a certain sensibility and subject matter that (let’s face it) isn’t really for the littlest kiddies, much though they may love Halloween, […]

Spooky Song Of The Week for Oct. 20th:  the Vampire Waltz and Dearg Due

It’s still the weekend, so we’re not late yet (just barely) for the Spooky Song Of The Week.  This time, it’s “The Vampire Waltz,” by Hannah Fury.  Fury is an American singer-songwriter not unlike Tori Amos, except that Fury focuses more on melancholy than anything else and is too shy for live performances.  Fury began […]

Spooky reading:  modern Gothic novels

Does anyone write true Gothic novels and stories anymore?  I mean in the tradition of The House of the Seven Gables or Rebecca.  Not horror:  Gothic suspense, with a dash of romance. These days, modern urban fantasy, updated vampire novels, Romance and other fantasy sub-genres have largely taken over where Stephen King, Batman, steampunk and […]

The perfect Halloween book

Everybody knows you go out and party on Halloween in your best costume ever – or else you stay home and dole out treats and tricks to the little buggers – uh, beggars who knock on your door. Either way, it gives you an excuse to chew a nice Tootsie Roll, chocolate bar, or whatever-your-pleasure.  […]